Snow Thrower Attachment for DR Field & Brush Mower

Snow Thrower Attachment for DR Field & Brush Mower

Blast through the white stuff

Sale: $799.99
add to cart
TOP

Snow Thrower Attachment for DR Field & Brush Mower

Blast through the white stuff

The optional Snow Thrower Attachment makes your DR Field and Brush Mower a 4-season workhorse. Throw snow off long driveways and walkways with our single-stage, 30"-wide Snow Thrower Attachment. With our powerful engines, there is plenty of power for the auger to quickly chew through dry or wet snow, and towering snowdrifts! Compatible with any model that has a 26" or larger deck.

  • List: $899.99
  • Sale: $799.99
  • In Stock
  • Shipping: $99.99
  • Ships in 3 To 5 Business Days
add to cart
Overview

Convert your DR to a Snow Thrower! (2:17)


We offer a full set of attachments that allow you to get even more use out of your DR Field and Brush Mower. Watch the video above for an introduction to each.


Switching Attachments is Fast and Easy! (0:32)


No need for a lot of tools or time. Switching attachments is a no-hassle process that you can do in just a minute or two. It’s as easy at it looks in the short video above.

Our Snow Thrower Attachment operates like a 2-stage with all the conveniences of a single-stage. Lighter weight makes it easier to handle. Easy on/off design makes attaching easy (less than 5 minutes). Clears a 30" wide path. Discharge chute rotates 230 degrees and is easily controlled from the operator's position. Optional Headlight for early morning or evening work. Adjustable skid shoes raise and lower the auger height. Throws snow up to 30' away. Simple design, unlike 2 stage snow blowers. Rigorously tested and proven here in Vermont!

Compatible with:

  • DR Field and Brush Mowers manufactured from 2001 - present (serial #ATM41933 – above)

Not compatible with:

  • 8 HP DR Field and Brush Mower manufactured from 2001-2005
  • 24" Premier DR Field and Brush Mowers manufactured 2009 – present (serial #FBP00001 – above)
  • 7 HP & 8.25 FPT 22" SCOUT DR Field and Brush Mowers manufactured 9/2003-2009 (serial #FBS000001/FBM000001 – above)

Please call toll-free 1-800-687-6575 if you have questions.

Specs

Dimensions

Length 36
Width 29
Height 38
Weight 145
Shipping Dimensions 34 x 31 x 24
Shipping Weight 160

General

Assembly Yes

Material

Deck 11 Gauge

Snow Clearing

Snowblower Type Single Stage
Clearing Width 30"
Max. Throwing Distance 30 ft
Directional Control Yes, 230 degree
Auger Material 14 Gauge Steel

Warranty

Machine Warranty 2 yr Residential 90 day Commercial
Reviews
Submit a review for this product
Sort By:
snowblowers
Posted by: frank b. from Suamico, WI on 06/20/2016
Rating:
i have had the blower attachment on the 17hp kawasaki unit for over 10years. when the blower was new the shear bolt failed frequently. lets say every hour or so. as the unit broke in it got better, haven't had one shear in 3 years. THe power head with the blower on it is a long unit. maneuverability is not as good as a standard snow blower. it is more suitable for larger spaces. 2 to 3 stall drives and longer driveways. This is a single stage blower, (most dedicated snow blowers are 2 stage, a fan in the chute helps to throw the snow. usually much less power than the DR) therefore it depends on RPM's to throw snow. In order to get the motor to advance its power you need to put a load on the blower auger. In light powder of 2 to 3 inches you will need to go faster to get the motor to power up. In heavier snow slow down and let it work. The blower will throw snow 30 to 40 feet. Look at snow blowers in terms of power to inches of chute. my DR has 17hp on a 30inch chute. you would find the dedicated blowers at 10 to 12 hp on a 30" chute. Many are under powered. It is always best to take a smaller "bite" in heavy and or deep snow so you are not overworking any snow blower, and a bigger bite in light fluffy snow. On the over all My DR blower is very good for larger areas, a bit of a challenge in smaller spaces, very good with medium to heavy snow, a bit of a challenge in light 2 to 3 inch snow due to the need to put a load on the motor to advance the power.
12 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Really good snow blower
Posted by: Angelo DiMeglio from Oak Bluffs, MA on 05/30/2016
Rating:
I think this snow blower is excellent.I have the brush cutter and snow blower since 2006.No problems with it.Use it every winter when needed.Would highly recommend this machine,well built.I would like to send you a video.How would I do that,.?Angelo DiMeglio
Response from DR SupportThank you for taking the time to write a review! We love hearing how our product is standing up to the test of time! You can email your video to Info@DRPower.com Again, thank you for the review!
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Snow blower model Dr. 30" blower
Posted by: JUNE Stever/Tim McGee operator from CLOVIS, CA on 02/02/2016
Rating:
well my only problem so far has been the tension pulley on snow blower, never had any problems with the blower in dry snow, but wet iced up snow is a problem, better to use it before it freezes, I never had a pulley to split down the middle before, do not know it after two storms with two feet of snow has done it in on the tension pulley, but I would thought that the shear pin would have sheared if the snow was to much for it, I always use it in first gear and take half of the 30" wide of snow so not to over do engine speed. would be nice if it had a slower speed than first gear does for snow, almost to fast for two feet of snow blowing.I would say this , the engine is a great engine for the 2006 model 17 HP, If kept tuned and maintain it always runes great, I used the Dr engine with my brush mower,lawn mower 42"deck and the snow blower, the only thing I would say is bad about snow blower is that it will beat you up if you are using it on a mountain road that is not flat, turning and backing up are harsh on a 57 year old man, I feel it for two weeks after ever time I use it in the snow, I have 300 feet of drive way, that why, better to have a tractor if you got the money for one.
Response from DR SupportThank you for providing feedback on the DR Snow Thrower Attachment. In looking at your customer file we see that you've had the attachment since 2012 and based on your nice feedback it appears that the Snow Blower has been a useful tool. As you likely know we have knowledgeable Tech Support Staff who are always happy to assist you and as well now have a terrific customer support resource located right on our web site. Check it out at www.drpower.com/support. Here you can find replacement parts, cost and are able to order what you need there. Keep in mind that we recommend you use the Brush Mower whether on its own or with an attachment on slopes no greater than 20 degrees. Thank you for choosing DR Power - we really appreciate your business!
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
The Beast!
Posted by: John K. from YORK, PA on 01/28/2016
Rating:
Here is a video of me clearing the 60' x 65' pad in front of the garages. I found very few videos on youtube demonstrating this product so here's mine in action. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nX9fKoZX-ZQ I am using the attachment on a 10year old 17hp model, the thrower was a beast through the deep snow that Jonas Blizzard brought the east coast. Keep in mind, this is in 20-40mph wind gusts of the blizzard. For the record, i did lose one sheer bolt and the belt popped once during the entire 3 day snow blowing term. The machine successfully cleared 8 total driveways, 3 of which are over 1/6 of a mile.
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Well made, as expected.
Posted by: Orrin M. from NICHOLASVILLE, KY on 07/10/2015
Rating:
No surprises, just a well made piece of equipment.
4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Very Good Product Ultimately
Posted by: Ethan M. from Rossland, BC on 04/29/2015
Rating:
I live where I do get a couple of feet of dry snow on a semi-regular basis and this product is great with a caveat. I did experience the constant pin sheering but the new shaft replacement has been great. We do get some wet snow and providing you do not rush things the machine handles it well. I like this product enough to drive it through the house in order to clear the deck.
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Snow thrower attachment
Posted by: WAYNE V. from MIDDLETOWN, VA on 02/17/2015
Rating:
I have had little opportunity to use this attachment thankfully, but with a recent 4 inch snow--very light and powdery--the unit will only throw the snow 2-3 feet and constantly clogs with the light, powdery snow. The unit is running well at full speed and the blades are rotating freely with no apparent issues, but at this time my 20 year old John Deere 5 h.p. unit does far more work with less aggravation.
Response from DR SupportWe appreciate your feedback on the DR Snow Thrower. We would really like to discuss this matter with you but are unable to locate a customer file with a Snow Thrower in it. If you could please give us a call at 1-800-376-9637 our Tech Support Department has some helpful suggestions for you. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.
14 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Agrivating
Posted by: Paul E. from Ironwood, MI on 02/14/2015
Rating:
Problems: endless broken shear pins, the chain and gears packed with snow and ice, difficult to maneuver, difficult to adjust chute. In addition (although not really a snow thrower issue) my mower WILL NOT start in the cold. I've most likely ruined the electric starter trying to get it to fire up. I went out and bought a nice 21 inch snow blower (hint: the orange ones) and am pleased as punch. On the plus side, when it works, it throws snow. If I could do it over again I would have bought a dedicated snow blower first. Now I have a snow blower attachment that sits in my garage taking up space. I would list it in the paper for sale but I would feel bad for whoever bought it from me.
Response from DR SupportThank you for providing feedback on your DR Snow Thrower Attachment. We are not able to locate a customer file with the limited amount of information and certainly want to contact you about this matter. If you could please call us at 1-800-376-9637 we would very much like to assist you. We hope to hear from you and please know we appreciate your business. Your satisfaction is important to us! Thank you.
14 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Vexing shear bolts
Posted by: gretchen w. from Granville, MA on 01/25/2015
Rating:
I have had this attachment for years - the past two I wish I didn't. I went through years with only occasionally needing to replace a shear bolt. Now, since the Oct 2011 storm, I break shear bolts constantly. Today I used the machine less than one minute and it broke - changed it and in 30 seconds again broke. Only 5 inches of snow!!! Shoveling is faster. I only use it for walks in front and back of the house as I plow the driveway. I am wondering if the shear bolts are weaker than previously??
Response from DR SupportThank you for the feedback on the DR Snow Thrower Attachment. We are going to give you a call today so that we might help determine what could be happening. Your satisfaction is important to us. We'll be in touch soon and thank you for choosing DR Power Equipment. We appreciate your business!
12 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Lots of little problems
Posted by: George D. from Franklinville, NY on 01/08/2015
Rating:
Started out going through a lot of shear pins. Last year they sent me a new shaft with a different pin. Tonight the shaft broke. Now I am down and a storm is coming.
Response from DR SupportThank you for your feedback on the DR Snow Thrower Attachment. We apologize that you've been having difficulty. Someone from our Tech Support Department is going to give you a call. Please don't hesitate to call us with any questions or concerns - we are here Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm EST. You will hear from us soon and we want you to know that your business is appreciated. Thank you for choosing DR.
6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Ready for snow now.
Posted by: JOHN Y. from EAST EARL, PA on 12/05/2014
Rating:
Just got the snow blower. Have if ready to go when the snow comes. We are impressed with the power to throw snow. We always need to be prepared for the snow or we will be snowed under.
1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Blowing Snow
Posted by: Ronald M. from SOUTH LYON, MI on 11/21/2014
Rating:
So far I am pleased with the DR Snow Thrower Attachment. We have only had 3" of snow so far, but my test run was what I expected. Our house is 700' from the road (gravel driveway) and 100' from our horse barn. It cleared a path (on grass) to the barn and after properly adjusting the skid shoes the driveway was cleared.
6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Disappointment
Posted by: MATTHEW S. from ADA, MI on 11/17/2014
Rating:
Bought this on reviews and reputation of DR. I have the 14.5 hp brush hog and have been impressed with this unit until I attached the snow thrower attachment. We have had early snow this year in Michigan (3-4 inches) and was excited to use this attachment. I was disappointed as I spent more time removing clogs from the chute than blowing snow. I see in one review that this sometimes happens with single stage units when the snow is wet but this was not wet snow.
Response from DR SupportThank you for the feedback on the Snow Thrower attachment. We are going to have someone from Tech Support give you a call to discuss your concerns. Please don't hesitate to contact us at 1-800-376-9637 if you have any other questions. You should hear from us in a day or two. We appreciate your feedback and your business.
9 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
A snow blower than can blow the snow.
Posted by: LEON M. from NIXA, MO on 10/14/2014
Rating:
Because it hasn't snowed yet but bacause of the construction and connected to a DR Pro 20HP and running at the recommended full throttle (1100 rpm) I cure this can handle the Missouri snow and be able to easly load in mu pick up to do my mother in law's drive too.
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Snow Thrower
Posted by: Tom C. from marion, MI on 03/11/2014
Rating:
Okay snow blower but sheers pins , and they are expensive. You can't go to your local hardware store to get the sheer pins either, you have to order them through dr company. They sold me a bigger shaft that holds a bigger sheer pin, but I feel the bigger shaft should be stock.Other than that it is okay!
Response from DR SupportThank you for posting a review. We apologize for the issues you had. Hopefully it has been working fine since the upgrade? In fact, the Snow Thrower has had the larger Shaft & Shear Bolts since mid 2010! Thanks again for leaving a review. We’re glad you are enjoying it!
15 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Snow thrower
Posted by: Al P. from HESPERIA, MI on 03/07/2014
Rating:
It's been great but the one problem I found is if I don't clean the snow and ice out chain and pulleys before putting it away it throws the belt next time u use it and the bottom of the unit is open doesn't help keep snow out other than that it's a great machine the push blade and brush hog work great.
Response from DR SupportThanks for posting a review, we appreciate it! Built up, frozen snow/ice can cause issues with the belt or chain and if possible should be removed after using the Snow Thrower. We’re glad you are enjoying this and the other attachment also.
11 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Power!
Posted by: BrianCT from Connecticut on 10/18/2013
Rating:
I have had the Snow Thrower attachment for over 10 years. The model I bought used the smaller Sheer Pin. Between Sheer pins and Rounding out the Pulley, I was replacing the Pulley every two years and the Sheer pins every time I used the attachment. I purchased the new Drive Shaft with Larger Pulley and Larger Sheer Bolts a few years back and it's INCREDIBLE. I have yet to break a Sheer Pin. I'm using the 17Hp DR with this and Holy Cow can it throw snow! My neighbors have Stand alone Snow Throwers from small 5Hp to large Pro Models with 15Hp motors... The DR throws the Snow further + I can move faster. On Wet snow the Single stage system sometimes clogs... Every 4 years I replace the Skid Shoes (They wear out) Great Attachment!! Picture attached.. Left side is from Shoveling.. Right side is the Clean line the attachment makes. February 2013 Snow Storm - 42" of snow.. The DR cleaned it up!
47 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Product Q&A
Ask a Question for This Product
Sort By:
Q.What are the incline limitations going up and down?
A.Hello, the Field and Brush Mower is not recommended to be used on inclines that exceed a 20 degree grade. This is for the safety of both the operator and the unit itself. When using the unit with the Snow Thrower Attachment, you will need to be extra careful on slopes, staying aware of traction and other hazardous situations. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
2 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Jim McRae from Marshall , NC on 6/13/2016
Other Items
Need help?