DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper

3pt Hitch/PTO

Harness your tractor's power for wood chipping. Handles limbs up to 4-1/2" thick with ease. Accepts optional extended discharge chute. Fits Category-1 3-Point Hitch.

  • List: $2,999.99
  • Sale: $2,599.99
  • You Save $400.00

  • SKU: CPR3PTR
  • Ships in 10 To 15 Business Days
  • Free Shipping!
Protect Your Investment Help
$149.99
$199.99
BEST VALUE
$249.99 $199.99
add to cart
Overview

PTO Wood Chipper For Tractor Owners

For 19 HP - 65 HP tractors equipped with a Category 1, 3-Point Hitch. Powered by your tractor's engine, the 3-Point Hitch DR Rapid-Feed PTO Chipper provides high-production chipping performance to easily handle woody material up to 4-1/2" thick. A a large vertically-oriented hopper directs material into the chipper blade. Just drop a branch in the hopper and let it chip, while you grab another. Most material will self-feed, saving time and energy.

    Product Summary:
  • Fits category 1 tractors
  • 4-1/2" Chipping Capacity
  • 22.5"L x 29"W hopper opening
  • Steel Flywheel; 16.5" Diameter; 55 lbs.
  • Hardened Steel PRO-SPEC™ Chipper Knife
  • Cast iron impeller shaft with industrial grade bearings
  • Super-duty cogged drive belt
  • Shown with optional Extended Discharge Chute.

Video Gallery Learn more about Our Rapid Feed PTO Chipper

 
DR PTO Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper accessories
Features
Self feeding feature on a DR PTO Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper

Self-Feeding means that 90% of the material will chip on its own.

Self-Feeding means that 90% of the material will chip on its own. With a sharp chipper knife all DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chippers will self-feed 90% of the material you put in it, instead of you having to force-feed the material. This enables you to process limbs up to 4-1/2" thick 2-3 times faster, and with far less effort, than with any cheap wood chipper.

 
Solid-Steel Flywheel on a DR PTO Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper

Massive Solid-Steel Flywheel spins with tremendous inertia for smooth chipping

Even the biggest hardwood branches won't bog down a DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper. The flywheel is cut from heavy steel (3/4" thick) and weighs up to 55 pounds. The massive size of this flywheel provides the inertia necessary for the chipper knife to power through knotty, hardwood branches at an incredible 40 bites per second.

 
Cogged drive belt on a DR PTO Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper

Super-Duty Cogged Drive Belt

Cogged drive belt prevents slipping, for full power transfer from the engine to the flywheel. The belt is also designed to stay cool, even as it travels 3,800 ft/minute. That translates into fewer belt changes over the life of your machine.

 
Over-sized Hopper on a DR PTO Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper

Over-Sized Hopper means less trimming of side branches

Oversized hoppers (up to 22.5 x 29") will accept whole armfuls of small branches at once, or even whole trees and saplings -- with little or no trimming of side branches. This saves tremendously on the time you spend pruning and preparing materials for chipping.

 
Steel frame on a DR PTO Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper

Heavy-Duty Steel Frame

Many chippers look like they're built to sit in one place. DR Chippers are made to be on the move, so you can get your chipper wherever you need to be on your property. We use rugged, welded-steel frames designed to withstand transport over punishing terrain year after year.

 
Specs

Chipping

Chipping Capacity 4-1/2"
Hopper Opening Size 22-1/2" x 29"
Chipper Flywheel 16 1/2" diameter; 3/4" thick; 55 lbs

Clutch

Clutch Centrifugal

Dimensions

Length 26"
Width 27"
Height 57"
Weight 295 lbs
Shipping Dimensions 48" L x 46" W x 45" H
Shipping Weight 400 lbs.

Engine

Make N/A
Model N/A
Starting Type PTO
Ft Lbs Torque N/A
Horsepower N/A
Engine Type N/A
Number Of Cylinders N/A
Air Filter N/A
Pre Cleaner N/A
Oil Filter N/A
Lubrication N/A
Oil Type N/A

Fuel System

Fuel Capacity N/A
Inline Fuel Filter N/A

General

Type Rapid Feed

Material

Frame 10-gauge steel

PTO

Tractor Requirements Cat 1
PTO Speed 540 rpm

Warranty

Machine Warranty 2 years residential, 90 days commercial
Engine Warranty N/A

Wheels Tires

Number of Tires N/A
Tire Size N/A
Shipping

Trucking Depot Delivery ($199.99) FREE

  • We ship to thousands of trucking terminals across the U.S. During checkout, submit your zip code to see a list of the trucking depots closest to your location.
  • When picking up at depot, you will need a pickup truck or trailer to accommodate your machine. Most depots will load your machine into your vehicle.

Business Delivery ($298.99) $99.00

  • The business you select must have a loading and off-loading facility and accept delivery during normal business hours. You must make arrangements with the business to accept your delivery.
  • Business locations could include feed stores, lumber yards, building supply centers, etc.

Standard Home Delivery ($298.99) $99.00

  • Your home must be accessible by tractor-trailer*, and someone must be home to accept delivery.
  • The truck driver is not required to unload your shipment. Additional fees will apply if the driver unloads your machine.
  • On the day of delivery, we recommend you have a couple of sturdy 10-foot planks (2" thick x 10" wide, minimum) plus three helpers to help you remove the machine from the truck.

Enhanced Home Delivery ($348.99) $149.00

  • Your machine will be removed from the truck by the driver and placed on the ground.
  • Someone must be home to accept delivery and your home or driveway must be accessible to a tractor trailer*.

Please Note:

  • Rush delivery is not available on freight shipments. We ship best method, depending on the delivery method you choose and your location.
  • For both standard home delivery and our enhanced home delivery option, after we process your order and it leaves our factory, the freight company will call you to schedule a delivery time. The carrier will usually provide a 3-4 hour delivery window (for example, 8 am to noon).
  • If the package arrives damaged, you must note it on the bill of lading. If your machine arrives damaged, call DR customer service at 1-800-376-9637 as soon as possible.
  • You can also pick up your machine for free at the DR Factory Store. We have a store in Vergennes, VT. Please call us in advance, toll free at 1-800-687-6575 to make arrangements.
  • * A driveway is considered accessible to a tractor trailer if it a) has no overhanging trees, b) has no power lines, c) contains no culverts or bridges, and d) will allow the truck to make a full turn-around. If the driveway isn't accessible the delivery will be made at the base of the driveway.
Reviews
Submit a review for this product
Sort By:
Awesome Product!
Posted by: KEITH B. from TULSA, OK on 08/24/2015
Rating:
This chipper was very easy to assemble and was up and running in no time. My seventy-year-old step mother-in-law helped me work on a very large wood pile I'd been accumulating from a few years' worth of ice storms. In just a couple of hours we had it whittled down to half. The three-point hitch makes it easy to move, just drop it to idle and disengage the PTO. When it stops spinning merely lift the chipper, take it where the work is and lower it. Drop back to an idle, slowly engage the PTO and gradually bring it back to PTO engine speed. I will admit that after half a dozen moves the PTO shaft end flew apart as I was increasing the engine speed and the shaft fell off damaging the chipper drive shaft in the process. I was very concerned whether they would stand behind it as the PTO shaft was sent by DR but not manufactured by them. One phone call and the parts (both the PTO drive shaft and the Chipper drive shaft, along with the hardware)were shipped to me, no questions asked! I am planning to buy the stump grinder next season and the Versa-Pro Z-Mower soon thereafter.
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Brush to mulch
Posted by: O KELLY D. from HASKELL, OK on 05/29/2015
Rating:
We lost a hundred-year-old red old, our summer shade for porch sitting, to hypoxylon canker. Removing it was a job for professionals but the brush was left to us. Enter Chippeway, the DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper. Mountains of brush now mulch 48 tomato plants, 60 row feet each of green beans, peppers and garden peas. Chippeway has exceeded our expectations, reduces any branch we can feed and doesn't bog down our Ford 1320 diesel. Solid product. Great value. Now to the seven acres of inpenetrable elm saplings...
1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr.
Posted by: Leonard A. from Fyffe, AL on 03/03/2015
Rating:
I have only used this for an hour at my home and it works very good. We will be using it at the farm to cleanup the area where the timber has been cut. We are using this behind a John Deere 5420 which is on the upper limit for this chipper
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Too good
Posted by: PATRICK c. from CASTLETON, VT on 11/24/2014
Rating:
Damn you DR for delivering a product that does what it is designed to do. Having lost several large trees to wind the clean-up started. Bucked the trees into movable monsters and with my Kubota L2900 chained dragged the large sections clear to an area, for future size reduction, leaving branches. Attaching the chipper I made quick work of all remaining debris with ease. Watching the progress and thoroughly impressed, my wife has added numerous other projects to an all ready lengthy "honey-do" list. Damn you DR. Four stars is a great rating and would be five stars except for the clean-up filing of burrs on the PTO gears that had led to a few choice phrases. This really was a minor inconvenience and the hook-up is now smooth. I live in Vermont, just down the road a piece, so picked up at the store. Great people, great product. I wonder where I should be looking for a stump grinder. Thanks
7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Great chipper - been put to the test!
Posted by: Keith F. from Altamont, NY on 08/29/2014
Rating:
Bought this chipper in 2009 as we were clearing land for a garage. I figured the 1 year trial period would make or break this machine. Assembly was pretty easy though I did run into a problem with the PTO shaft not fitting on the chipper. I called DR and they sent another shaft. Unfortunately the problem was with the shaft on the chipper. Their solution was to sand down the shaft until I could slip the PTO shaft on. Not a good solution in my opinion but... After a couple of hours of sanding it finally went on. I ran it on a Kubota B7610 for several hours and it ran great. Only issue with the 7610 was when I tested it with a 4" oak branch to see how it would handle it. Bogged down a bit. Overall though I am quite impressed with the chipper and I only chip branches 2" or less. No other issues have come up in the past five years. I did some maintenance to it -changed the cutting blade, lube, etc and it was pretty easy to do. I remove the hopper for storage every year and I have since removed the PTO shaft and put it back on without any problems. I upgraded to a B3200 this season and tried another 4" oak branch to see how it would handle it... No problems at all! I'd recommend this chipper to any homeowner/ small farm owner looking for a well built (commercially built???) chipper!
9 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
very impressed
Posted by: Daniel L. from FAIRFAX, VT on 07/08/2014
Rating:
unlike most people I was able to go to the DR Power Store in Vergennes VT to get my chipper. The staff there are amazing people to deal with. They had no problem removing the chipper from its crate, assembling it and loading it into my truck for me. I have used the chipper for approx. 2 hours now on a 23 horse kioti and it is still going strong. I stopped and checked every bolt on the machine, not one was loose. I have been feeding it 1-4 inch pine, beech, and even some cherry. There seems to be no stopping it. Above all I have absolute faith in the made in America quality and (for me) local product support.
12 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Good Product but problems with assembly
Posted by: Mechanic from Massachusetts on 09/29/2013
Rating:
Just used the chipper and took a large pile of brush and reduced it to chips in no time.. Works like advertised.. Hook up to the back of my friends Kubota with no problem... Now for this issue and why a gave 2 stars in the quality department.. When we went to assemble the unit we immediately ran into a problem with the Hopper fitting into the chipper intake.. We tried to maneuver the hopper in several different positions , read the instructions over and over to see if we were doing something wrong.. After further looking into the issue we determined that the reason why it would not fit was because it was getting hung up on two welds on the top of the chipper intake.. Looked like the weld puddle was excessive and with the combination of the paint it prevented the hopper from sliding in.. We did manage to get the nut on the end of the bolt ( barely) and the hopper is on secure but it would of been nice if it fit like it was suppose to.. I did call DR to report this so they can review their manufacturing process and perhaps add a step to actually put together prior to shipping.. I still like the product, it works like it suppose to, in fact I own 3 DR products, brush mower and leaf vac and both run great..
23 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Very glad I got it
Posted by: Copperhead from Virginia on 09/15/2013
Rating:
I got speedy shipment and as with all DR equipment I am impressed with the quality. The product eats the limbs up but you do have to trim up some small branches. The only problem was when I tried to feed a large old locust limb but it ate up other large limbs with ease. We recently had some logging done so it will be put to work when the weather turns cold and the snakes are gone. Thanks for a great product that will save me from trying to burn brush piles.
7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
The product works great
Posted by: dc13 from Oregon on 08/09/2013
Rating:
I would give this an excellent rating except for hook up. I have a 23 hp kubota the driveline is way to long & the 3 point hitch is extremely difficult to hook up. I plan on doing some modifications when warranty runs out. Once its hooked up it does everything that they say it will.
14 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
product functions and performs exactly as billed in ad
Posted by: banjo13 from Tennessee on 07/13/2013
Rating:
due to weather haven't used my chipper as much as I would like, but when I have it has been great. I shoot my chips straight into my truck with the extended chute I purchased and unload right where I want.
4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Not satisfied with product
Posted by: Roger21 from Virginia on 06/30/2013
Rating:
Could not get limbs to feed into the chipper. Had to trim each limb so that there was not anything left to catch when going into the 4" opening. Took a long time to chip a very small pile of limbs.
Response from DR SupportThank you for posting a review of the Three Point Hitch Chipper to our website. The opening at the base of the hopper is approximately 4 ¾” x 7” so anything wider will need to be trimmed or if pliable enough pushed through.
14 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Does everything company said it would.
Posted by: theoldskier from South Carolina on 06/20/2013
Rating:
The chipper arrived on time, was not difficult to assemble and works exactly like it was advertised. Makes quick work of limbs and handles 4" trees like they were butter.
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
very tough and reliable
Posted by: loophole from Idaho on 06/20/2013
Rating:
i had a pile of brush ,i could not burn due to fire restrictions and purchase th 3 pt chipper.it took every thing with ease even the wet stuff as it was covered with snow all winter.the driveshaft was the correct length so i did not have to modify and i have an off brand tractor.i have bought many dr items and everything is built to commercial stds as far as i am concerned.also the on line chat(customer service)is great.i researched models for a long time and dr exceeded all the others in cost and performance
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Works great so far!
Posted by: Toki from Utah on 06/19/2013
Rating:
I have had the chipper for a couple months now and so far it has worked great. Having it hooked up to the tractor makes it easy to move around wherever I need to go and makes quick work of everything that I have tried putting through it. I bought the chute to go with it and that helps to make sure the chips go where I want.
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
phenomenal machine
Posted by: PJ15 from Maine on 06/19/2013
Rating:
The DR 3-Ponit Hitch Chipper was purchased by the family for a gift for my 75-year-old father. He LOVES the machine and has spent hours chipping branches from logging that has been done on his land. The chipper has worked well and chips the wood well enough to be used for burning (when it's well dried) and for use in mom's flower gardens to make them "weedless!" It's been a great addition to the arsenal of tools he owns on the farm and makes his work easier, safer, and more efficient! Thanks for the great service and communication on this order.
9 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
It will make short work of all your trimmings and turn them into usefull mulch.
Posted by: FloridaBob67 from Florida on 08/26/2012
Rating:
I was a little unsure of how this machine would behave with my very old Ford 600 tractor. After a short time of learning the routine of what to do and how to do it i felt like I had been using it forever. Now no matter how big the brush pile it is mulch in just a short time. Oh yes I must mention I am 67 years old and maintain our 10 acres of North Florida land with this and two other pieces of your fine equipment.
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Excellent product
Posted by: Willy from Maine on 04/28/2012
Rating:
I have owned the 3-point hitch rapid feed chipper for four years. I have found it easy to use and very handy around my house. It is very easy to hook up to my tractor.
7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Fast and easy chipping
Posted by: Kirk from West Virginia on 04/26/2012
Rating:
The entry angle on this chipper makes chipping large quantities of branches easy. Most normal size limbs self feed while you get the next bunch. The larger branches must be held mostly vertical but the load is well supported by the chipper. While I have had no problem, I suggest there be more protection for the user slipping into the pulley wheel that extends down under the chipper without a guard or if the user were reaching for fallen branches about the base.
14 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
It easy to put on my tractor can be used close to work and it fast . Its an older one but dose a ...
Posted by: handyman from Washington on 04/24/2012
Rating:
we use this product a lot not only my place but my neibors place Ive had it for some time and love it. It dose all the work I have to do around here This winter we had a lot trees fall over so it well get a good work out this summer.It is easy to use and dose the work fast.
7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Chipper does the job, but is more work than expected.
Posted by: Ray43 from South Carolina on 04/23/2012
Rating:
The chipper works well on brush and small branches. We have a lot of Live Oaks with many branches that come at odd angles, and these require quite a bit of preparation to prevent jams in the feed chute . Success comes from proper preparation. I would highly recommend this chipper, but be prepared to learn how to make the most of it. It is physically demanding.
9 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
A workhorse
Posted by: SDJeepGuy from South Dakota on 04/21/2012
Rating:
I received this as a gift from my wife and sister. We use it to help keep our 55 acres of ponderosa pine. With the pine beetle epidemic in the west we have had to cut down many trees and our DR chipper has helped us keep a handle on all the brush. It has been a workhorse
5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
No place for bushy branches.
Posted by: mauivalleyboy from Hawaii on 04/20/2012
Rating:
There's no place to feed bushy or brushy branches.
7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
this product is easy to use.
Posted by: dean from Texas on 04/16/2012
Rating:
this product works great reduces a large pile of limbs to mulch in no time at all.
13 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
great
Posted by: terry from Illinois on 04/15/2012
Rating:
from the first time i used the machine, my friend and i backed up and started laughing like a couple of kids, we couldn't believe it!! i used the chips on my drive to keep the dust down out in the sticks, and i brought some home to put in the flower beds around the house. i have 8 acres of raw timber and had looked at the local stuff but decided to pay a little more, with your gurantee i had nothing to lose, and i'm so glad i chose it!! my next purchase will be the grader, i know it will work just as well. anyone who has seen the chipper work are absolutely amazed.
4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr
Posted by: KenW from Wisconsin on 04/15/2012
Rating:
This new model replaced my previous chipper (your 18 hp tow-behind) and it chops up substantially larger diameter logs without slowing. The dicharge chute can be aimed in any direstion. I love it!
4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Handles large branches well, gets jammed with smaller items
Posted by: RayB from California on 04/13/2012
Rating:
Chipper works great on large branches and goes through a large amount of material without problems unless you have evergreens or small material like leaves on branches. Then it will jam near the output. Taking your time helps keep it from jamming.
15 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This is one work horse of a machine
Posted by: trapmasterhal from Georgia on 04/12/2012
Rating:
I can go through a tremendous amount of wood in just one day. Make sure you keep the knife sharp so you don't have to force feed the machine.
4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This product performed beyond my expectations
Posted by: BigD from on 04/11/2012
Rating:
I highly recommend the DR Chipper. It has surpassed my expectations of what I thought it could do. It is a well made piece of equipment and I have been using it for three years and it is a real work horse. I do recommend it to anyone who has asked about it.
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
PTO chipper
Posted by: mrt7 from Mississippi on 04/11/2012
Rating:
Good buy, easy to use and easy to hook to tractor and get the job done
1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
the features of this product meet all my expectations
Posted by: Dave52 from Illinois on 04/11/2012
Rating:
The Rapid Feed PTO DR Wood Chipper meets my needs.
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
3-Point Hitch Chipper, #CPR3PTR
Posted by: hunter50 from Colorado on 04/10/2012
Rating:
I originally purchased the smaller chipper as I had a smaller tractor and then after buying a bigger tractor, I needed a bigger chipper. This chipper went up to 65HP and I have used it now for 2 years. It is great for chipping up the branches trom the trees I cut down for firewood., which makes my wife happy as it makes great mulch!!!!!
1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This product is easy to use.
Posted by: rayray54 from Virginia on 04/10/2012
Rating:
This product is great for brush cleanup around the home, it is very easy to use
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Great product !
Posted by: PawRo77 from Kentucky on 04/10/2012
Rating:
It will handle what is says but no more. Recomended
1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Very valuable machine for our hobby farm
Posted by: girt from New York on 04/10/2012
Rating:
The PTO chipper has been very useful to us when clearing the overgrown pasture on our 23 acre land. It has been good for creating mulch to use on our pathways.
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Good, hard worker
Posted by: PCDan65 from California on 04/10/2012
Rating:
This is a good chipping product.. does not bog down, like a gas model I have.(troy built) I like to let the tractor move it around, the gas one I have is hard to move around. It makes little piles out of big ones fast.
1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
dr trimmer
Posted by: jasmar from Florida on 04/10/2012
Rating:
We love our DR weed eater. We got the one we have about 30 yrs ago and use it a lot. Our's is just about worn out but it still works even tho a replacement would be extra nice. It will cut the little stuff like grass around door steps and concrete slabs, as well as the big stuff like dog fennel that has grown tall and tough. You can get it in places you cannot get a regular weed eater.
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
dependable, and a time saver
Posted by: frosty from Texas on 04/10/2012
Rating:
when you live among many trees, it's a must to clear for the breeze. It's good to have a dr product that leads the way.
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
We really like DR quality products!!!
Posted by: goatgirls from Vermont on 04/09/2012
Rating:
We have a rototiller, 3pt hitch chipper and brush mower. and find each to be a plus in our arsenal of farm equipment. We also inherited an older model of the trimmer/mower, which we use quite frequently. We are impressed with the new line of products we see with every new catalog. Keep up the good work!!
0 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
3pt chipper
Posted by: KevinG71 from Wisconsin on 04/09/2012
Rating:
While I ended up with an older model that was left over from the warehouse clearance, I'm still very pleased with the results. I have a new 40 acre parcel and clearing some trees around the home. I got this unit right away to hook up to an older Ford9N and the chipper can handle anything I throw down its throat. I prefer to keep the larger branches for firewood but once in a while its awesome to see how fast it can make a 10ft branch disappear into great looking mulch. I originally thought I was getting a top chute discharge with a larger feeder but this unit still does the job. I just have to do some shoveling to get chips loaded up. I probably ran this thing for nearly 12hrs total so far with a few 3hrs straight sessions and never seems to miss a beat nor has it gotten dull.
4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
DR did it again
Posted by: Jeanie from Virginia on 04/07/2012
Rating:
After purchasing other DR products, we knew our next product would be a DR CHIPPER. We didn't want another piece of equipment that needed fuel or oil or occasional tune-ups. DR provided us with exactly the right product - again!
1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes
Product Q&A
Ask a Question for This Product
Sort By:
Q.Where is this chipper made?
A.The chipper is manufactured in the state of Pennsylvania.
34 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: budlight from on 7/12/2012
Q.I have a old Ford 8N tractor. Will it be sufficiant to power this chipper?
A.The tractor requirements for the Three Point Hitch Rapid Feed Chipper are as follows, Must be a Category 1. Must have a HP between 19 and 65. The 2 outside pins and top pin must be 7/8" in diameter. If your tractor meets the above requirements, the Chipper will be compatible. Thank you for your inquiry.
16 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Grover from Florida on 6/14/2013
Q.How long does the blade last?
You also have conflicting answers about where the blade is manufactured.
A.The Chipper Knives are made of D2 Heat Treated steel. They are made in China. The machine is made in America. The time between sharpenings will depend on what gets put through the Chipper. The type of wood, moisture content and "cleanliness" of the wood will determine the time. It could be as little as 2hrs or as many as 20hrs+. I have heard both from customers.
16 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Whitebeard from on 2/21/2013
Q.What size openings are in the chipper screen that this unit ships with?
A.This Chipper does not have a screen. I believe you are referring to a Chipper Shredder. Our Chippers produce a chip that is about 1/8" thick and the length and width will vary depending on the size of branch being fed into it. Generally the average size is about that of a nickel.
16 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Pumba from Missouri on 12/11/2012
Q.How dose this chipper work on smaller leafy brush and limbs with pine needles?
A.Dear Customer, If you cut the material to be chipped into manageable lengths and bundles and do not overload the chipper hopper with limbs that have clusters of side branches/needles, the chipper will accept these limbs. Since the DR Chippers are "rapid-feed" chippers, it will self-feed once the branches make contact with the knife edge. Thanks for your question,
12 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Brushboy from South Carolina on 8/5/2012
Q.Is this 3 pt chipper compatable with John Deere "i" match quick hitch?
A.Unfortunately, the DR 3-Point Hitch Rapid Feed Chipper is not compatible with the John Deere iMatch Quick Hitch. If you have more questions, please feel free to call our Technical Support Department directly at TOLL FREE 1-888-550-0062, Monday thru Friday 8:00 am to 6:00 pm and Saturday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm, Eastern Time. We can also be reached at our email address, info@drpower.com or on Live Chat at www.drpower.com during regular business hours.
11 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Deeredoctor from Michigan on 8/19/2013
Q.will it work on cubcadet 24 hp sc2400 tractor pto
A.Yes, it will work great on your Cub Cadet SC2400. Your Cub Cadet is a catagory 1 tractor and your PTO rotate's at 540 RPM which is what is required.
11 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: cold from Michigan on 2/15/2013
Q.My tractor pto shuts off if I get out of my seat, how does the chipper continue to run if this safety feature is active on my tractor?
My tractor is a JD 3320
A.You will have to install an over ride switch for the PTO in order for the Three Point Hitch Chipper to work. Please contact us if you have any more question's.
10 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: JDGreene from Oklahoma on 5/29/2013
Q.Can this category 1 chipper fit my category 2 tractor?I would like to use it on my Kubota B7100 (category 1) and my Belarus 572 (category 2). Is there anyway to use it on both?
A.It will fit if you use Link Reducing Bushings on the Cat 2 Tractor. The PTO Shaft may not be able to be swapped due to length. The Belarus 572 is at the max on HP so you may want to throttle down a bit to play it safe.
10 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Dangerfarms from Tennessee on 3/31/2013
Q.Does the upper limit 65 hp tractor size refer to PTO horsepower, instead of tractor engine horsepower?
A.Powered by your tractor's engine, the 3 Point Hitch Rapid Feed Chipper mounts to a Category 1 Tractor with a maximum engine horsepower of 65 HP.
9 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Motortrend from Ohio on 5/11/2013
Q.Does the 3pt. hitch/PTO have a safety kill switch for the operator standing next to the unit?
A.Thank you for your inquiry. The 3PT hitch PTO driven Chipper does not have a safety kill switch on it. It has only a belt, a shaft and a flywheel with knife. I hope that this answers your question.
5 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Santa from Vermont on 12/5/2012
Q.What is the difference between the PTO DR Rapid-Feed Wood Chipper (#CPR3PTR) and the DR Wood Chipper/Shredder (#CSR3PTT)?
A.The main difference is the Chipper/Shredder has the Shredder compartment. USING THE SHREDDER HOPPER The shredder hopper is located on the top of the unit and is the opening into which all materials to be shredded should be fed. Most organic materials can be shredded. A flex guard, or blow back shield is secured to the hopper. Material must be pushed past this flap using a wooden stick in order to enter the main chipper-shredder chamber where revolving steel hammers do the shredding. The blow back shield is an important feature. It prevents kickback of materials! Do not use your machine unless the blow back shield is securely fastened in place. Due to the wide variety of materials that can be shredded, and their very different physical characteristics, only feed limited quantities of any material into the hopper at first. The amount and length of material can be increased if you find that the material is being processed without any difficulty. Your judgment and operator experience is very important. Be sure not to overload the machine by feeding too much material into the hopper at one time. If you hear the RPM's decreasing, stop feeding material into the machine at once. Do not resume feeding the machine until it has returned to full speed. The maximum diameter of material that can be shredded is: 1. Any larger material should be fed through the chipper-hopper. Material larger than 1" can cause serious damage to any of the internal parts of the chipper-shredder chamber. The unit should be inspected after every use for bent hammers, missing spacers, damage to the screen or any other obvious problems. If damage occurs, the rotor assembly can become unbalanced causing excessive vibration. If used in this state, damage can occur. Do not use the machine if vibration is present. Vibration is generally a warning sign of trouble. Several small branches can be fed into the shredder-hopper at once providing their combined diameter is less than 1 1/2". Branches longer than three feet should be cut to make them more manageable. Green materials should be allowed to dry, or processed in small batches with dry materials to avoid winding around the rotor assembly. MATERIALS BEST SUITED FOR SHREDDING: Leaves, Roots, Grass clippings, Straw, Hay, Small branches, Flowers, Soil, Garden debris, Hedge clippings, Kitchen Waste, Manure, Corn Stalks, Palm frond tops, Potato vines, Tomato vines, Paper.
4 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Yogi from Illinois on 4/27/2013
Q.I own a saw mill, will the chipper do scrap wood ?
A.All models of the DR Chippers are designed to handle any wood that can fit down the hopper opening (within the maximum diameter ratings) and make rigid contact with the knife-edge. With the 3-Point Hitch Rapid-Feed Chipper, it can handle woody material up to 4-1/2" thick.
2 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Nozzle from New York on 4/12/2013
Q.is it dual use?Has this chipper ever been used to chip / grind corn, cob and all and stalks. I would like to find a wood chipper to use for brush, but also to grid corn and stalks for feed. One machine many uses. No need to purchase a machine that you only use 2-3 months a year.
A.The DR Chipper is designed for tree branches, we do offer a Chipper/Shredder that would work much better on the corn and stalks. It is also a 3 point hitch set up as well. Here is the web page. http://www.drpower.com/power-equipment/chippers/chipper-shredders/
2 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: MMMMM from Tennessee on 12/21/2012
Q.I'm looking at the three point hitch chipper for a John Deere 1026r tractor, which has a "limited" category 1 hitch. Does this chipper fit?
As I understand it, the limited refers to some of the dimensions of the hitch, not the lift capacity. Thanks.
A.Our 3 Point Hitch Rapid Feed Chipper will mount to a Category 1 Tractor up to 65 HP. You need to run the PTO at 540 RPM when chipping. The limited Category 1, 3-point hitch is standard for quick hookup of 3-point hitch implements. Industry-standard link and connecting point specifications for Category 1 hitches are met, allowing implements to easily connect to the tractor. However, the low profile on your model tractor may prevent the hitch from lifting some implements to the minimum height prescribed by the Category 1 standard.
2 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Bill0702 from New Hampshire on 11/2/2012
Q.Will the chipper work with a Kubota bx2200 ? Thanks
A.Thank you for contacting us.

The 3 Point Hitch DR Chipper will work very well with your Kubota BX 2200. Your Kubota is a category 1 tractor with a rear pto rpm of 540 which is what is required.

Please contact us if you have further questions. PL
1 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: John Gustafson from ojai , CA on 5/3/2015
Q.Will this product work with my Kubota B7300?
A.Thank you for contacting us.

We recommend a category 1 tractor with a minimum of 19 hp for the DR 3 Point Hitch Chipper. Your Kubota B7300 is a 3 cylinder diesel, category 1 tractor with the PTO rpm at 540 which is perfect, so it will mount up to it. However, I see it rated at 16hp with a rating of 12.5 hp at the PTO. We recommend a minimum HP rating of 19 to be able to handle up to 4.5 inch diameter branches. The smaller than recommend HP might be an issue.

Please contact us if you have further questions. PL
1 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Daniel Zimmerman from Sergeant Bluff, IA on 4/29/2015
Q.Can the hopper be easily removed? I would like to transport the unit in the back of an SUV
A.Thank you for your interest in the DR 3 Point Hitch Chipper.

The hopper can be easily removed, simply remove the 6 bolts that hold it in place. You only need 2, 1/2 inch wrenches. We do have a tech team here for you if you ever have any questions. They can be reached at 1-800-376-9637, option 2.

Please contact us if you have further questions.
0 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: andy swartz from york , PA on 8/5/2015
Q.I have a mahindra 3616 tractor, will this product work for me?
A.Our 3-Point Hitch Chipper is compatible with 19 HP - 65 HP tractors equipped with a Category 1, 3-Point Hitch, PTO needs to run at 540 RPMs when chipping. Powered by your tractor's engine, the 3-Point Hitch PTO Chipper can easily handle woody material up to 4-1/2" thick. This Chipper has a large vertically-oriented hopper that directs material into the chipper blade. Most material will self-feed, saving you time and energy.

Thanks for your interest and question. ph
0 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Anonymous from Winters , CA on 1/28/2015
Q.I have a Kubota with a 62 HP at the pto. Will your DR rapid feed wood chipper fit and work on my tractor?
A.The 3-Point Hitch Rapid Feed Chipper will mount to a Category 1 Tractor up to 65 HP. This machine is designed to operate at 540 RPM only. The 3-Point Hitch Chipper has a 55 pound flywheel that spins at 2071 RPMs and can easily handle woody material up to 4-1/2 thick.

Thanks for your question and interest. ph
0 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Anonymous from Lone Oak , TX on 12/18/2014
Q.Chipping prickly pear cactus?
I have 43 acres in central Texas. In addition to chipping Live Oak branches, I have a need to turn prickly pear cactus into mush. Will this product handle cactus? It would be easier to chip than wood, however, I am concerned about the large amount of water that is in each cactus "leaf." Would cactus jam the shredder and render it ineffective? Thanks, Mark
A.Yes, the DR Chipper can handle the prickly pear cactus, you may have to run a garden hose in the hopper to keep the material moving as the cactus tends to be very moist and glog's the hopper. I would recommend that you give our tech team a call at 1-888-550-0062 and they will discuss the best way's to chip up the cactus. Please contact us if you have other question's
0 people found this answer helpful.
Was this question helpful? Yes
Posted by: Watty from Texas on 8/31/2013
Ask a Question for This Product